health care

Paid Sick Leave in NJ? What You Need to Know

Another change in New Jersey that affects both employers and employees in the state is paid sick leave, which was effective starting October 29, 2018. Here are the details:

Number of sick days: The New Jersey Earned Sick Leave Law allows employees to accrue 1 hour of sick leave for every 30 hours worked, up to a maximum of 40 hours each year. An employee is eligible to use the earned sick days beginning 120 days after commencing employment.

Permitted usage of sick leave: Sick days can be used for diagnosis, care, treatment or recovery from an employee’s mental or physical illness or for the needs of a family member. The time can even be used by an employee in connection with their child to attend a school-related conference, meeting, or function.

Alternatives: An employer is in compliance if they offer paid time off, including personal days, vacation days, etc. that can be used as sick days, as long as they are accrued at the same or greater rate.

Carry forward: The employer shall not be required to permit the employee to accrue or use in any benefit year, or carry forward from one benefit year to the next, more than 40 hours of earned sick leave.

The interesting aspect of this law is that as an employee-owner, you have to include yourself. When do owners take a sick day?!

If you like what you just read then don’t hesitate to forward/share with your friends.

Make sure to subscribe to our weekly emails to receive practical business, financial and tax strategies! Sign Up Now!